OUTRAGEOUSLY VIOLENT AND PERVERSE COMIC MAGAZINE COVERS FROM MEXICO/OSCAR BAZALDUA

When I say that these covers from Mexican comic book magazines are outrageous I am it is at best an understatement. Most (if not all) of he covers I posted here are drawn by illustrator Oscar Bazaldua who seems to be the reigning king of this type of artwork. I tried to find a few samples of the interior artwork but I really could not find much. If anyone knows of a link where I can see samples of the b/w drawing on the inside please send that to me. I would be much indebted to you. Also not a lot of information on these titles is available with a superficial investigation and I will see what I can dig up when I do a follow up post to this one since I have some many cover samples. Depending on your outlook on things these are simply vulgar and disgusting or they are actually a little funny, in the same way that the old Eerie Publications covers were a little funny. The themes here, as far as I can make out, are not so much horror as they are macho adventure stories and sexual escapades. The male characters are ruthless and gun toting as are the females ones, but the females tend to scantily clad and smoldering to the point of being untouchable. The violence is graphic and exaggerated and consistently over the top.

For example one of the first two covers, Realtos de Presdidio, – which contains some of the most violent cover artwork by Bazaldua – simply shows some dead guy who has flown through a windshield in graphic detail. Nothing more than that. Opening up the article –where the best stuff is hidden away- are twp more Realto de Presidio covers that are more typical of Bazaldua’s approach. One is common theme on some of the covers and shows a macho guy who appears to part of some drug cartel blowing out the brains of some guy who is haplessly crawling away on the floor. The guys getting blasted in these types of covers usually look defenseless and frightened. Draped over him is a dead woman with blood censoring her nipples. Thank god for that, wouldn’t want to see any nipples here and be corrupted. The cover next to that has some guy serenading and fondling a buxom gal while they sit over yet another dead guy with his brains all over the floor. But the next cover for Champeadoras is really the freakiest of the lot and worthy of reviving Frued’s dark theories about what is buried in a man’s psyche. Or what is buried in a woman’s toilet bowel I guess is more accurate. The covers only get more extreme in content and execution. They are drawn and colored in a realistic style that only makes them all the more shocking and grotesque. Probably more of these cover –and maybe some interior artwork- coming in the future once I can find out a little more about the books and the people who create them.

4 Responses to “OUTRAGEOUSLY VIOLENT AND PERVERSE COMIC MAGAZINE COVERS FROM MEXICO/OSCAR BAZALDUA”

  1. Whoa! those look like pretty cool comic books, though I never heard of it before.

  2. New to me too and I am getting more information on them for a future post. I hope I can find some scans of the interior artwork to share here as well. A couple guys hit me up on Facebook with all sorts of trivia and one guy even owns a couple thousand of them, the real deal.

  3. Hi guys! If you like Bazaldua's art, I recommend you to visit our blog http://www.comikaze.net/2011/07/oscar-bazaldua-25-anos-de-arte.htmlYou'll find photos of a recent exhibition of Bazaldua's art and some comments of his colleagues. Bazaldua is considered one of the two greatest cover artists of modern Mexican comics. The other one is Rafael Gallur (check his art on Deviantart.com)JorgeMexico City

  4. I will check out your site, thanks. And there is a post on Gallur on here somewhere as well, thanks.Bill

Leave a Reply

